In Memoriam 2014: The HFPA Remembers

by HFPA January 8, 2015


As we prepare for our biggest celebration, we take a minute to remember those who have left us over the course of the last year and take stock of those who contributed so much to film, television and our lives. Those include many who were recognized by Hollywood Foreign Press Association for their extraordinary achievements.

Of these few matched actor turned director Richard Attenborough, who over the course of a long career earned six Golden Globes nominations, winning three times. The first two were in the best supporting actor category, back to back, almost half a century ago: In 1967 for The Sand Pebbles, that movie's only win out of eight nominations, and the following year, 1968, for supporting Rex Harrison (who did not win) in Doctor Doolittle.

Two decades later Attenborough returned to the podium as a director, winning for the epic Gandhi, 1983, (curiously nominated as best foreign movie, from India). He was last nominated in 1988, for Cry Freedom, for both Best Drama and Best Director.

Another actor turned director who passed away last year was Mike Nichols, who was nominated six times for a Golden Globe, but won only once, for his sophomore movie, The Graduate (1968), which garnered seven nominations and four wins. It came just a year after his first, breakout movie, Who's Afraid of Virgina Wolf which had seven nominations but not a single win. In all, Nichols who was nominated six times as best director, but lost all but once, guided several actors to Golden Globes wins, a testament to his skill: Cher for Silkwood,(1984), Dustin Hoffman and Anne Bancroft in The Graduate, Melanie Griffith and Sigourney Weaver in Working Girl (1989) and Natalie Portman and Clive Owen in his last directorial showing at the Globes: Closer  (2005).

The most crowded award shelf belonged to actor James Garner who died last year at 86. He amassed twelve Golden Globes noms, and won four statuettes, attesting to his wide-ranging talent: He first won the Globe in 1958, as Best New Star for his role in Josh Logan's Sayonara (the lead, Marlon Brando was nominated for but did not win. The supporting actor, Red Buttons, did win). Garner was nominated three times for his signature TV drama, The Rockford Files, and once for his TV comedy series, Maverick. But he also collected Globes for acting in mini series and movies made for TV: Nominated five times, Garner won for The Promise (1987), Decoration Day (1991), and finally, in 1995, for Barbarians at the Gate.

Robin Williams was another iconic actor who excelled in both movies and TV. He was nominated two years in a row for his breakout TV comedy series, Mork and Mindy, and he won the statuette the first time out, in 1979. As he moved to films, Williams was nominated both in the drama and the comedy categories, collecting three wins in comedy: Good Morning Vietnam (1988), The Fisher King (1991) and Mrs. Doubtfire (1994). Williams was fond of the HFPA and we returned the love. In 1993 he was presented with a special, one-time award, and in 2005 we gave him the highest honor – the Cecil B. deMille award. Williams died last year, age 63, a suicide.

Another tragic death last year was Phillip Seymour Hoffman's, who died at age 46, of an apparent overdose. In his relatively short but universally acclaimed acting career, Hoffman was nominated for a Globe no less than five times, and won once, in 2006 for playing the lead in Capote. His last Golden Globe nomination was last year, as supporting actor in 
The Master (2013).

Another Cecil B. deMille award-winner to pass away in 2014 was Lauren Bacall, our 1993 laureate. Bacall burst on the movie scene as a teenager in 1942, before the HFPA was established. In a rich career that spanned more than 60 years, she also won a Globe in 1995, for a supporting role in The Mirror Has Two Faces. (Barbra Streisand, nominated as the lead, did not win). Active and sassy to the end, Bacall died last year in New York, aged 89.

Few matched Mickey Rooney for longevity and prolific career. He started in vaudeville in 1927 when he was all of six years old, and he kept acting for 87 years. His last film, Night at the Museum, Secrets of the Tomb, was released late in the year, after his death at age 93. Rooney was twice nominated for a Golden Globe – and won it both times: in 1964 for his TV series Mickey, and in 1982 for his starring role in the motion picture made for TV, Bill.

Two foreign born actors who passed away in 2014 with several Globes to their credit were Austrian born Maximillian Schell and British actor Bob Hoskins. 

Schell was nominated four times, and won twice: For his memorable portrayal of the defense lawyer in Judgment at Nuremberg (1962) and for a supporting role in Stalin, the 1993 movie for TV. Hoskins was nominated three times, and won in 1987 for Mona Lisa, the U.K. movie that introduced him to the USA public.

Another legend who left us in 2014 is Eli Wallach, whose career spanned almost 70 years until his death at 98. Best known for his work in Sergio Leone's spaghetti westerns, Wallach was nominated for a Golden Globe in 1957 for his supporting role in Elia Kazan's Baby Doll.

Efrem Zimbalist Jr., of The FBI TV series fame, was nominated three times, but won his Golden Globe in 1959, as New Star of the Year in Too Much Too Soon.

Lastly, maverick film producer Saul Zaentz was nominated three times, and won the Globes for producing Amadeus (1985) and The English Patient (1997).

Being nominated for a Golden Globe, and winning, creates a special bond between the Hollywood Foreign Press Association and the creative artists that we single out. As a token of our appreciation, the HFPA donates $1,000 to the favorite charity of each Golden Globe winner – gone but not forgotten.

Yoram Kahana

In Memoriam photo gallery CLICK HERE!