Venice, Toronto New Filmmakers Residency Recipients Announced

by Ana Maria Bahiana September 8, 2018
Winners of teh Residency Grant, 2018

Residency grantees from the TIFF Film Lab, with HFPA president Meher Tatna: Georgia Fu, Rati Tsiteladze and Cynthia Kao.

armando gallo/hfpa

Six emerging filmmakers from diverse nationalities are the recipients of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association’s first Residency Grant, in partnership with Film Independent.

From the TIFF’s Filmmaker Lab, the USA’s Georgia Fu and Cynthia Kao, and Georgia’s Rati Tsiteladze were the winners. From the Orizonti slate, the recipients were Best Film director Phuttiphong Aroonpheng (Manta Ray), from Thailand; Best director Emir Baigazin (The River), from Kazakhstan; and Special Jury Prize Mahmut Fazil Coskun (Anons), from Turkey.

Winners of the Residency Grant, 2018

Grantees from Venice's Orizonti: (left) Emir Baizagin; (top) Mahmut Fazil Coskun; and Phuttiphong Aroonpheng.

getty images


The six filmmakers will travel to Los Angeles from January 2 – 23, 2019 for mentorship, master classes and workshops. They will be paired with individual mentors who are respected filmmakers to help hone their skills, attend screenings and education events hosted by Film Independent, and attend the HFPA-hosted 76th  Annual Golden Globe® Awards viewing party.